Where Great Books Begin: Last Evenings on Earth

“The way in which my friendship with Sensini developed was somewhat unusual.  At the time I was twenty-something and poorer than a church mouse.  I was living on the outskirts of Girona, in a dilapidated house that my sister and brother-in-law had left me when they moved to Mexico, and I had just lost my job as a night watchman in a Barcelona campground, a job that had exacerbated my tendency not to sleep at night.  I had practically no friends and all I did was write and go for long walks, starting at seven in the evening, just after getting up, with a feeling like jet lag—and odd sensation of fragility, of being there and not there, somehow distant from my surroundings.” 

 

Last Evenings on Earth

Roberto Bolaño 

Author of 2666, Bolaño (1953-2003) was born in Santiago, Chile, and later lived in Mexico, Paris, and Spain. He has been acclaimed “by far the most exciting writer to come from south of the Rio Grande in a long time” (Ilan Stavans, The Los Angeles Times),” and as “the real thing and the rarest” (Susan Sontag). Chris Andrews has won the TLS Valle Inclán Prize and the PEN Translation Prize for his Bolaño translations.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

